Trevor Gretzky is On to the Next One

 

Image

With third-baseman Kris Bryant being promoted to class-A Daytona, the promotion of outfielder Trevor Gretzky seemed to be set on the back burner. While with YOUR Boise Hawks Gretzky hit .256 with six RBI and left this morning, August 13, with an 11-game hitting streak at Memorial Stadium. With the buzz around rumors of Kris Bryant being promoted, the move of Gretzky was kind of a shocker for some. 

“I had no idea. I was very happy and excited to move up and keep working.”

Coming into the 2013 season Gretzky struggled to get his average up. After five appearances for YOUR Boise Hawks, he was hitting .138 with just four hits out of nineteen at bats.  Hitting Coach, Bill Buckner, was a big help in getting Gretzky to where he is today. “I’ve been working with Buck for the last year and a half. He’s helped me a lot, especially with my approach.”

With fielding it was a matter of timing. “I didn’t feel like I struggled, I was confident all year, I was just waiting for my opportunity because of all of the talent we have had in the outfield.”

Now that the opportunity has come, Gretzky says that he will miss his Host Family, Lisa and Steve Capps, as well as all of the people he met that work at the stadium. “And the Hawks Reading Tree of course.” 

We wish you the best and good luck in Kane County!

Leave a Reply

