“Work Smarter, Not Harder”

Image

Eddie Orozco has been playing baseball since he was just five years old due to the encouragement of his older brother Tony. Tony, who is nine years older than Eddie, started influencing him by teaching him to play catch, taking him to the batting cages, and simply teaching him the game. “I fell in love quickly.”

Eddie lost his father eight and a half years ago and has since learned a lot about hard work from his mother. I asked Eddie why he looked up to his mother the most in life and this is the heart touching response I got,

” That’s my lady! My family lost my dad eight and a half years ago to a heart attack and my mom has been the absolute rock of my family. At the time my mom was not a citizen (they were both from Huejucar, Mexico), no driver’s license, knew minimal English, and had just lost her manufacturing job a couple months before. In the past eight and a half years she has become a citizen (which is a tough test), has taken English classes and now knows a lot more English, got her driver’s license and has bought and paid off her own car, and started her own cleaning service that she does on her own. But she always shows us that no matter what happens hard work always pays off. She always puts her family in front of herself and has never complained about the obstacles she has faced in her life but instead appreciated all the positive aspects of her life.”

While he learned a lot about hard work and persistence from his mother, he has since learned that once you work hard, you must work “smarter not harder.” Eddie went to college at the University of California Riverside where he studied Business Administration for his undergrad and got his Masters of Education in Education Administration and Policy. The “smarter not harder” advice was given to him by the had coach at the University of California Riverside, Coach Smith. Eddie said that he was the type of player that would over work in a way that affected his performance in a negative way. “Doing too much can be a bad thing; instead I would work smarter by focusing on fixing or accomplishing one thing at a time.” He realized that it was easier to focus and fix one thing at a time rather than get worked up over everything at once.

I asked if there were any superstitions or routines he lives by and I only came up with two. “I MUST have a Red Bull on days I throw and I have to have my game day sliders on when I have to throw.” If Eddie wasn’t playing baseball he would either be coaching ball or be an athletic director. He enjoys fishing with his boys and misses all of the important people at home that have supported him. Eddie’s advice to everyone, “it’s something I tell myself everyday it is to live life to the fullest on a daily basis because we are never promised tomorrow. I have a post-it above my bed that says wake up hungry, go to sleep satisfied, meaning wake up with a goal (anything) and make are when I rest my head on that pillow at the end of the night I have given it one hundred percent to accomplish that goal or get better in whatever way I had set forth in the morning.”

Leave a Reply

